It’s “Yes We Can!” Not “No We Won’t!”

Today begins my experience in blogging. Why not start with President-Elect Obama’s choice of minister to lead the inaugural invocation?  

There is a new “W” in town! While the heads are bowed and the hands are folded beneath the crystal chandelier and the fine china, the big bad wolf Rev. Rick Warren is going to huff and puff blow The White House down before “Amen” and the appetizers. Right? It seems that everyone left, right and center is pissed! Pro-choice advocates are angry. Gay-rights activists are angry. Many Obama supporters are mad as hell and one step away from the fire-pit. Some are ready at a moment’s notice to burn their Obama gear and organize the removal of their Obama Facebook Fan pages and Myspace memberships! Oh the hostility!

Like so many others, I am not pleased with his selection. The new “W.” and I do not share many of the same views. I support gay rights. He does not. I am pro-choice. He is not. I canvassed for P.E.O. in Buffalo, NY and Erie, PA. Warren was not in my carpool. I donated to the campaign. It’s likely he is not on the donor list either. I also own some very fly Obama gear that I am not flicking a Bic to. You get my point.

Instead of getting mad, I decided to reflect on why I supported him in the first place. P.E.O. (President-Elect Obama) is not quick to react. There is reason with his rhyme. Obama thinks. That’s a HUGE change from the P.T.G (President To Go). Obama plans. He calculates. He executes.  I thought about his victory speech.  I searched the New York Times for the video of his speech with the transcript.  I have included it here:

Obama Victory Speech

Watching it again reignited (metaphorically of course) my hope and enthusiasm. The following words quelled my embers of displeasure and provided an explanation for his choice.

“There will be setbacks and false starts. There are many who will not agree with every decision or policy I make as president, and we know the government can’t solve every problem…..And while the Democratic party has won a great victory tonight, we do so with a measure of humility and determination to heal the divides that have held back our progress…As Lincoln said to a nation far more divided than ours. “We are not enemies but friends,—though passion may have strained it must not break our bonds of affection.” And to those Americans whose support I have yet to earn,  I may not have won your vote tonight, but I hear your voices, I need your help and I will be your president too.”

P.E.O. is walking the talk. This is the catalyst to the dialogue he aspires to have; the dialogue so often spoke about during his campaign. He will be the President of every LGBT-Heterosexual-Pro-Choice-Anti-Abortion-Agnostic-Atheist-Christian-Single-Married-Homophobic-Working Class-Middle Class-Rich-Poor-Black-White-Muslim-Jewish-Democrat-Republican-Independent citizen of The United States.

Rev. Warren is saying a prayer.  P.E.O. may not share everyone’s  taste in clergy.  Setbacks and false starts. He knows. The Inauguration is his party. He can make the guest list. You can bet that there will be at least one of each of the above mentioned at his party.  Every family has at least one.

I’m not trying to invalidate your feelings.  I’m disappointed too. We’ve had 8 years of George Bush remember? REMEMBER?  He couldn’t think and he couldn’t give a damn on a silver serving platter!  

I conclude this post with a clip of Chris Rock:

Let P.E.O. get the keys, walk in the door, have his soup and “The Big Piece of Chicken”.  He’ll need a good meal.  He has a lot of work to do.

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 


1 Comment

  1. Hey Sharon,

    This is an excellent blog. I don’t have a problem with his choice of preachers. Also, Obama has spoken on his views of gay marriage, why would anyone be surprised by this choice? I think people thought he was only going to be inclusive to who they thought he should be inclusive to.

    I agree with you, let him get into office and start governing. Until then, let him have his big piece of chicken!

    Ntare


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

